SYN Shop

IMG_0401

Time to talk about the amazing thing that happened this weekend…

It feels like I have been waiting forever and it’s crazy to know that everyone else has been waiting five times longer than I have… but finally, FINALLY the keys were given over to us and the SYN Shop is for the most part, ALIVE and open.

The wait began for me towards the end of this summer when my dad brought me an article promoting the shop and its booth at the upcoming First Friday. He prompted me to read it claiming he had found the thing I had been searching for in the Vegas community. It was true that ever since I had moved back to my native city from college in Chicago, I was craving the type of environment I had in my technology department… a sort of studio space but for tech geeks and the like. I had little knowledge of what a ‘hackerspace’ was but as soon as I finished reading the article I was eager to go introduce myself at the art walk and become a part of it.

Up until this weekend we had our meetings in whomever’s garage on weekends, making things, exchanging ideas, and trying to get the word out about the shop to as many different types of creative minds as possible. They were able to establish a good following and now at last there is a home base for everyone to claim. The magic started here at the point of origin which was this weekend… and I am so glad I got to be a part of it. I have made so many new amazing friends along the way to take over the world with. ❤

Here are some of the pictures. The walls may be mostly white and bare but the transformation will be cool to watch. May I present to you the start:

IMG_0466

Stuff in boxes waiting to be put together:

IMG_0445

IMG_0407

The setup:

IMG_0458

IMG_0470

The ‘Danger Room’ sign:

IMG_0468

The Shopbot work effort (and random people standing around):

IMG_0482

IMG_0471

Brian, Bill and the Laser Cutter:

IMG_0420

Robot Mark eats smaller robot…NOM:

IMG_0490

IMG_0497

Me looking fly in the Shopbot hat:

IMG_0499

Talk to me

