Delta Array : Code Mash

I finally got to play around with the code last night. I’ve been preparing to move for a job these past few weeks and haven’t gotten as much play time in as I’d like. Again my goal (for now) is to have the wiichuck control the movement of the robot and the color of the light (which will go on the effector end).

First off… I am not nearly skilled enough to have written this code all by myself so I’d like give credit to the people who posted this project: Wiichuck Controlled Delta Robot. This was a huge help for me while prototyping. I also want to thank my friend Krux for writing the c RGB LED bit in the beginning of this video!

I mashed these two elements together and voila! PROGRESS:

 

Also! I’m impressed with this guy’s resourcefulness. He managed to make an even less expensive and easier to assemble delta bot out of balsa wood rods with heat shrink joints:

And! This guy succeeded in making exactly what I’m trying to, a baby delta that moves gracefully:

That’s all for now. Thank you again to all who’ve answered my many questions lately.

3 responses to “Delta Array : Code Mash

  1. Deltas are funky. Here’s a few shots of mine, and a video of first tentative moves:

    http://imgur.com/a/cnN1i

    I drew the servo brackets, upper beams and end effector in CAD then printed on my 3D printer. I laser cut the acrylic base at a local FabLab.

    Going to move it to stepper motors soon.

    Your LED project looks great, keep the updates coming 🙂

    • Wow! Your delta is beautiful. Very impressive work! I am currently reworking the design of this project to be 3D printed as well but it’s slow coming as I’m not too familiar with any modeling programs or the exact set up to get an object ready to be printed.

      What software did you use and what got you interested in the delta robot type?
      Again, fabulous job… !

      • Thank you, glad you like it. I got interested in Deltas first through seeing the incredibly fast and precise industrial versions, then I saw people like you building your own with Arduinos and I was in!

        The design/print workflow for 3D printing is pretty simple: you draw what you want in the CAD or modelling package of your choice and, when complete, save it as an .stl file. You then load that into a slicing app (such as Slic3r or Cura), which will slice and dice your model and output a g-code file. Your 3D printer uses that g-code file to print the object.

        I use SpaceClaim Engineer for modelling, but that’s expensive commercial software and you’re unlikely to have access to it. You could try OpenSCAD, which many people like but which doesn’t suit me – it’s 3D modelling from command line type programming. Alternatively, maybe try something like AutoDesk 123D, which I’ve also not used but looks interesting and useful (given that it’s free).

        Incidentally, I think it might help the behavior of your delta if you constrain the range through which the servos can rotate. They are driving past the point where the kinematics of the robot breaks down (e.g. where the upper and lower arms become aligned in a single straight line). If you add a max/min angles to your code to prevent that happening it should be a bit more predictable, and smack you in the face a bit less often 😉

        Just a suggestion!

Talk to me

